Curriculum Mapping

KS3 students follow the Ark Mastery curriculum which covers:

  • Year 7: Dickens’ Oliver Twist, Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Poetry Anthology, modern novel and grammar lessons.
  • Year 8: Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, Shakespeare’s The Tempest, Orwell’s Animal Farm and grammar lessons.
  • Year 9: Bronte’s Jane Eyre, Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, Poetry Anthology, study of non-fiction, and grammar lessons.


KS4 students follow the EDUQAS English Language Specification and the AQA English Literature Specification which cover:

  • 20th Century Literature Reading and Creative Writing
  • 19th and 21st Century Non-Fiction Reading and Transactional Writing
  • Spoken Language
  • Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet
  • Priestley’s An Inspector Calls
  • Dickens’ A Christmas Carol
  • Poetry Anthology
  • Unseen poetry


English Overview 2020