Child Development

OCR GCSE Child Development comprises three units.

Units 1 and 2 are coursework based. Unit one requires students to undertake three short tasks. Student are given topics such as ‘Changing facilities in your area’, the expectation is they research the topic and produce a report. Each short task is worth 10%.

Unit 2 is a child study and is worth 30% of the final mark. The expectation is that the student works with a family friend or relative aged 6 months to 5 years. A sequence of visits needs to be planned to assess all aspects of development. Observations must be presented and evaluated.

Unit 3 is exam based. It assesses the student’s understanding of;

  • Family and parenting
  • Preparation for pregnancy and birth
  • Nutrition and health
  • Development of the child
  • Community support for children

This is theory is taught throughout the course with a terminal exam in the final year of study.