Reporting Progress

Ormiston Chadwick Academy aims to maintain a continuous dialogue, with parents and students, in order to develop excellent relationships that we believe ensure successful progress through the academy. A significant aspect of this dialogue is the regular reporting to parents of the academic progress of their child in each curriculum area and this occurs at the end of each half term.

Aspirational target setting and monitoring though a variety of carefully planned assessment opportunities enable staff to closely monitor students’ progress as they move through the academy.

Each student is set a minimum expected level or grade at the beginning of the year and, for Key Stage 3 students, this is then broken down into termly targets so that they can gain a sense of achievement over a shorter time scale. This encourages students to aspire to greater success and so they to continue to work towards the next target.

At the end of each half term, subject teachers provide an overall assessment of the level or grade that each student is working at, based on the assessment evidence collected. This information is reported to parents together with the expected level or grade and, where necessary, Parents are invited to contact the students’ Head of Year if they wish to discuss the contents of the report in further detail.

In addition to these half termly reports, at one point within the academic year, parents will be provided with a detailed report of the curriculum that students have been studying and their child’s progress within each subject area. Also there will be an annual Parents’ Evening event, providing an opportunity for parents and students to discuss progress with each subject teacher.

What the new GCSEs mean

As you may be aware, the government has introduced a new GCSE grading system with grades running from level 1 (the lowest grade) to level 9 (the highest grade) with level 4 expected to be the rough equivalent of a C grade. These levels will eventually replace the current A*-G grading system. There is also no longer any requirement to use National Curriculum Levels at Key Stage 3.

Year 9 students starting KS4 in Sep 2015 will be the first to sit the new generation GCSEs in English and Maths in Summer 2017.  Other subjects will move to new GCSEs in phases thereafter.

Ultimately in Year 11 students your child will receive GCSE levels 1-9. As a result we have decided to adopt the Progress system below which relates the old National Curriculum levels, outgoing A* – G grades and incoming 1-9 GCSEs levels into one unified scale.

The table shows the changes and their equivalents. (Click here)


Progress 8

The Progress 8 measure is designed to encourage all students to study a broad and balanced curriculum.

The new measure will be based on students’ progress measured in points across eight subjects.

For each student the 8 subjects must be a combination from the diagram below.




The Progress 8 score will always be determined by dividing the points total by 10 (the eight qualifications with English and Mathematics counting double), regardless of how many qualifications your child sits or in which subjects.

How will these changes impact whole school measures?

For a number of years the whole school measures have been based around the number of pupils achieving A*-C in 5 or more subjects inc EM as well as 5A*-C.  In recent years the English Baccalaureate (EBACC) was also used as a measure.  The EBAC measured the number of pupils achieving A*-C in English, maths, science, geography or history and French or Spanish.

From 2016 the current whole school measure will be replaced by two new measures called ‘Progress 8’ and ‘Attainment 8’.  Both these measures will consider the grades pupils achieve in 8 subjects across the curriculum.  Details of which subjects are included and the weighting they will hold is shown in the table below:

Qualification Type Subjects Weighting & Notes
1 English English Language or
English Literature
Double Weighting (if both Language and Literature are taken)
The higher of the two grades is used.
2 Maths Maths Double Weighting
3 EBACC Science



Single Weighting
6 Open Any other subject not ‘already used’ above. Single Weighting
Can be made up of any other subjects offered in school (GCSE or BTEC)
7 Any other subject not ‘already used’ above
8 Any other subject not ‘already used’ above


Attainment 8

This will show pupils’ average attainment in the group of subjects that make up the Progress 8 measure. This is calculated for each pupil by dividing by 10 because English and Mathematics are double weighted.  Examples of calculations are as follows:

  Qualification Grade Points Included Doubled? Total Pts
1 GCSE English Language A 7 Yes Yes 14
2 GCSE Maths A* 8 Yes Maths is always doubled. 16
3 GCSE Additional Science B 6 Yes No 6
4 GCSE Core Science B 6 Yes No 6
5 GCSE History A 7 Yes No 7
6 GCSE English Literature A 7 Yes No 7
7 GCSE Religious Studies A 7 Yes No 7
8 GCSE Spanish B 6 Yes No 6
9 GCSE PE C 5 No Eight counted already 0
Attainment 8 Score Attainment 8 Score ÷ 10 = 69 ÷ 10 = 6.9
Progress 8 Score A pupil’s Progress 8 score is their Attainment 8 score, minus their estimated Attainment 8 score.  The estimated Attainment 8 score is the average Attainment 8 score of all pupils nationally with the same prior attainment at Key Stage 2 (KS2). 69 – 60 = +0.9